cyprus rentals homecyprus rentals advanced searchcheap flights to cypruscyprus rentals login Signed in:- No One  

About Cyprus


Population : 793,100 (End 2001)
80%: Greek Cypriots
11%: Turkish Cypriots
1%: Other minorities (Maronites, Armenians and Latins)
8%: Foreign residents

Population of Main Towns
(End 2001)
Nicosia: 206,200
Limassol: 161,200
Larnaka: 72,000
Pafos: 47,300

Cyprus is an independent sovereign Republic with a presidential system of government. Under the 1960 Constitution, executive power is exercised by the President of the Republic, elected by universal suffrage for a five-year term of office. The President exercises executive power through a Council of Ministers appointed by him. Ministers may be chosen from outside the House of Representatives.

Cyprus is a member of the United Nations and U.N. Agencies. It is also a member of the Council of Europe, the Commonwealth, the Organisation for Security and Cooperation in Europe and many other international Organisations. Following the signing of the EU Enlargement Treaty in Athens on April 16, 2003 and its subsequent ratification by the Cypriot House of Representatives, Cyprus officialy joined the EU on May 01 , 2004 and will be adopting the Euro as from 1 Jan 2008.

The legislative authority in the Republic is exercised by the House of Representatives now consisting of eighty members (56 of whom are to be Greek Cypriots and 24 Turkish Cypriots) elected by universal suffrage for a five-year term. At the time of its establishment, the House consisted of 50 members, 35 of whom were to be Greek Cypriots and 15 Turkish Cypriots. According to the constitution the ratio is 70% Greek Cypriots and 30% Turkish Cypriots. Following the withdrawal of the Turkish Cypriot members, the House has been functioning only with the Greek Cypriot members.

The administration of justice is exercised by the island’s separate and independent Judiciary. Under the 1960 Constitution and other legislation in force, the following judicial institutions have been established: The Supreme Court of the Republic, The Assize Courts, District Courts, Military Court, Industrial Disputes Court, Rent Control Courts and Familiy Courts. The Supreme Courts is the final appellate court in the Republic and the final adjudicator in matters of constitutional and administrative law.